The Carrollton Court House, built more than 150 years ago, has a fascinating legal history. Carrollton was incorporated as a city on March 10, 1845. In 1852, the neighboring town of Lafayette, which had been the seat of government for Jefferson Parish, was annexed to the City of New Orleans. The following year, Carrollton won the election to relocate the seat of Jefferson Parish government. In accordance with its new position, a courthouse and jail were to be built in Carrollton. Property at the foot of Canal Street (now South Carrollton Avenue) was purchased from Mr. C.C. Duncan for $7,000. Designed by architect Henry Howard, the building and jailhouse were constructed by Messrs. Wing and Crozier for $59,000. It was completed in late 1855, during Mayor J. L. Donnellan’s administration.
From 1855 to 1874, Carrollton was the seat of government for Jefferson Parish, until it, too, was annexed by the City of New Orleans. During those 19 years, the Carrollton Court House was the scene of many interesting criminal and civil cases affecting the future of Carrollton. Justice was dispensed there, including death sentences. Hangings took place behind the Court House and near the prison.